Thank you to our Sponsors

The Longwood Graduate Program Symposium is fast approaching. The Fellows have been working hard to ensure the success of the event. However, none of that success comes without the support of our Symposium Sponsors. Each year, one Fellow takes the lead in raising funds to cover Symposium costs. This year, each Fellow had the opportunity to join Raakel Toppila in sponsorship meetings in which the Fellows learned, through experience, what it takes to cultivate donor relations. Like years before, public horticulture institutions and businesses near and far came forth with immense support for the Program and the Symposium. Nineteen organizations contributed funds and/or in-kind donations to the Symposium. We are forever grateful for their continued support of the Longwood Graduate Program.

Another aspect of our fundraising efforts involved a Former Fellow Campaign in which we reached out to graduates of the Longwood Graduate Program to support our efforts. Eleven Former Fellows contributed this year, in addition to former Program director, Dr. Jim Swasey.

On behalf of all the current Fellows and Dr. Lyons …THANK YOU.

This year’s Symposium Sponsors:

Speaker Sponsors

American Public Gardens Association
Parvis Family Endowment

Golden Larch Sponsors

Color Advantage Photography
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Mt. Cuba Center
Nemours Mansion & Gardens
University of Delaware Department of Plant and Soil Sciences

Silver Linden Sponsors

Bowman’s Hill Wildflower Preserve
Center for Public Horticulture
Tyler Arboretum

Copper Beech Sponsors

Adkins Arboretum
Garden Club of Wilmington
Philadelphia Parks & Recreation
Lark Label
Morris Arboretum of the University of Pennsylvania
University of Delaware Botanic Gardens
Debra L. Rogers and Paul W. Meyer, Former Longwood Graduate Fellow, Class of 1977

Bronze Fennel Sponsors

Botanic Gardens Conservation International, U.S.
Dr. Jim Swasey, Former Program Director

Former Fellows
Jim Swasey, Former Program Director
Kathryn and Gary Gerlach, Class of 1969
Richard Brown, Class of 1970
Colvin Randall, Class of 1975
Jane Pepper, Class of 1978
Claire Sawyers, Class of 1983
Nancy Bechtol, Class of 1984
Erich Rudyj, Class of 1988
Patrick Larkin, Class of 1995
William Lefevre, Class of 1999
Matthew Quirey, Class of 2009